Basic Catechism; Every Catholic Must Know

The 7 Sacraments (The Holy Mysteries):

1. Baptism

2. Confirmation (Chrismation)

3. Eucharist

4. Penance (Confession, Reconciliation)

5. Matrimony

6. Holy Orders

7. Extreme Unction (Annointing of the Sick

The 7 Corporal Works of Mercy:

1. To feed the hungry

2. To give drink to the thirsty

3. To clothe the naked

4. To shelter the homeless

5. To visit the sick

6. To visit the imprisoned

7. To bury the dead

The 7 Spiritual Works of Mercy:

1. To counsel the doubtful

2. To instruct the ignorant

3. To admonish the sinner

4. To comfort the sorrowful

5. To forgive all injuries

6. To bear wrongs patiently

7. To pray for the living and the dead

The 3 Eminent Good Works:

1. Prayer

2. Fasting

3. Almsgiving

The 7 Graces of the Holy Ghost:

1. Wisdom

2. Understanding

3. Counsel

4. Fortitude

5. Knowledge

6. Piety

7. Fear of the Lord

Class of Gifts of the Holy Ghost known as Charismata:

1. Faith

2. Grace of healing

3. Gift of miracles

4. Gift of prophecy

5. Gift of discerning spirits

6. Gift of tongues

7. Gift of interpreting speeches

The 12 Fruits of the Holy Ghost:

1. Charity

2. Joy

3. Peace

4. Patience

5. Benignity

6. Goodness

7. Longanimity

8. Mildness

9. Faith

10. Modesty

11. Continency

12. Chastity

The 3 Theological Virtues:

1. Faith

2. Hope

3. Charity

The 4 Cardinal Virtues:

1. Prudence

2. Justice

3. Fortitude

4. Temperance

The 7 Capital Sins:

1. Pride

2. Greed

3. Lust

4. Anger

5. Gluttony

6. Envy

7. Sloth

The 6 Sins against the Holy Ghost:

1. Presumption

2. Despair

3. Resisting the known truth

4. Envy of another’s spiritual good

5. Obstinacy in sin

6. Final impenitence

The 4 Sins that Cry Out to Heaven:

1. Willful murder

2. The sin of Sodom

3. Oppression of the poor

4. Defrauding laborers of their wages

Conditions for Mortal Sin:

1. Grave matter

2. Full knowledge

3. Deliberate consent

The 9 Ways We Participate in Others’ Sins:

1. By counsel

2. By command

3. By consent

4. By provocation

5. By praise or flattery

6. By concealment

7. By partaking

8. By silence

9. By defense of the ill done

The 10 Commandments:

1. Thou shalt not have other gods besides Me

2. Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord thy God in vain

3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s day

4. Honor thy father and thy mother

5. Thou shalt not murder

6. Thou shalt not commit adultery

7. Thou shalt not steal

8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor

9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife

10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods

The 2 Greatest Commandments:

1. To love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, soul, mind and strength.

2. To love thy neighbor as thyself.

The 3 Evangelical Counsels:

1. Voluntary poverty

2. Perpetual chastity

3. Entire obedience.

The 6 Precepts of the Church (The Duties of a Catholic):

1.To go to Mass and refrain from serviley work on Sundays and holy days

2. To go to Confession at least once a year (traditionally done during Lent)

3. To receive the Eucharist at least once a year, during the Easter Season (known as the “Easter duty”)

4. To observe the days of fasting and abstinence

5. To help to provide for the needs of the Church according to one’s abilities and station in life

6. To obey the marriage laws of the Church

The 3 Powers of the Soul:

1. Memory

2. Intellect

3. Will

The 4 Pillars of the Catholic Faith:

1. The Apostles Creed

2. The Seven Sacraments

3. The Ten Commandments

4. The Lord’s Prayer

The 3 Pillars of the Church’s Authority:

1. Sacred Scripture

2. Sacred Tradition

3. Living Magisterium

The 3 Munera (Duties of the Ordained):

1. Munus docendi (duty to teach, based on Christ’s role as Prophet)

2. Munusy sanctificandi (duty to sanctify, based on Chris’s role as Priest)

3. Munus regendi (duty to shepherd, based on Christ’s role as King)

The 3 Parts of the Church:

1. The Church Militant (Christians on Earth)

2. The Church Suffering (Christians in Purgatory)

3. The Church Triumphant (Christians in Heaven)

The 4 Marks of the Church:

1. Unity

2. Sanctity

3. Catholicity

4. Apostolicity

The 12 Tribes of Israel
In order of their birth:

1. Reuben

2. Simeon

3. Levi

4. Judah


6. Issachar

7. Dan

8. Gad

9. Asher

10. Naphtali

11. Joseph (Menasseh and Ephraim)

12. Benjamin

The 8 Beatitudes:

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

2. Blessed are the meek: for they shall posses the land.

3. Blessed are they who mourn: for they shall be comforted

4. Blessed are re that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill

5. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy

6. Blessed are the clean of heart: for they shall see God

7. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called children of God

8. Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice’ sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven

The 14 Stations of the Cross:

1. Jesus is Condemned to Die

2. Jesus is Made to Bear His Cross

3. Jesus Falls the First Time

4. Jesus Meets His Mother

5. Simon Helps Jesus Carry His Cross

6. Veronica Wipes Jesus’ Face

7. Jesus Falls the Second Time

8. Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem

9. Jesus Falls the Third Time

10. Jesus is Stripped

11. Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

12. Jesus Dies on the Cross

13. Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross

14. Jesus is Laid in the Tomb

The 20 Mysteries of the Holy Rosary & When They are Prayed:


1. Annunciation

2. Visitation

3. Nativity

4. Presentation

5. Finding Jesus in the Temple


1. Agony in the Garden

2. The Scourging

3. Crowning with thorns

4. Carrying of the Cross

5. Crucifixion


1. Baptism of Jesus.

2. Manifestation of Jesus at the wedding feast of Cana.

3. Proclamation of the kingdom of God.

4. The Transfiguration.

5. The institution of the Holy Eucharist


1. Resurrection

2. Ascension

3. Pentecost

4. Assumption

5. Crowning of Mary

Mondays: Joyful

Tuesdays: Sorrowful

Wednesdays: Glorious

Thursdays: Joyful

Fridays: Sorrowful

Saturdays: Glorious

Sundays in Advent

Christmastide & Epiphany:

Joyful Sundays in Eastertide & Time After Pentecost: Glorious

All of Septuagesima & Lent: Sorrowful

The 9 Choirs of Angels

In ascending order:

1. Angels

2. Archangels

3. Principalities

4. Powers

5. Virtues

6. Dominion’s

7. Thrones

8. Cherubim

9. Seraphim

The 3 Levels of Reverence:

1. Dulia: the reverence we give to Saints

2. Hyperdulia: the reverence we give to Mary as the greatest of Saints and Mother of God

3. Latria: the reverence and worship we give to God alone

The 14 Holy Helpers:

1. St. George, Martyr, April 23

2. St. Blaise, Bishop and Martyr, February 3

3. St. Pantaleon, Martyr, July 27

4. St. Vitus, Martyr, June 15

5. St. Erasmus (Elmo), Bishop and Martyr, June 2

6. St. Christopher, Martyr, July 25

7. St. Giles, Abbot, September 1

8. St. Cyriacus (Cyriac), Martyr, August 8

9. St. Achatius, Martyr, May 8

10. St. Dionysius (Denis), Bishop and Martyr, October 9

11. St. Eustachius (Eustace), Martyr, September 20

12. St. Catherine of Alexandria, Virgin and Martyr, November 25

13. St. Margaret of Antioch, Virgin and Martyr, July 20

14. St. Barbara, Virgin and Martyr, December 4

The 7 Last Words of Christ:

1. Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do. (Luke 23:34)

2. Amen I say to thee: This day thou shalt be with me in paradise. (Luke 23:43)

3. Woman, behold thy son. . . .Behold thy mother. (John 19:26-27)

4. Eli, Eli, lamma sabacthani? (My God, My God, why hast Thou forsaken me?) (Matthew 27:46, ref. Psalm 21)

5. I thirst. (John 19:28)

6. It is consummated.(John 19:30)

7. Father, into Thy hands I commend my spirit. (Luke 23:46, ref. Psalm 30:6)

The 4 Last Things (The Novissima):

1. Death

2. Judgement

3. Heaven

4. Hell


Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.